What happened to tom hagen?

Thomas Hagen is a fictional character in Mario Puzo's 1969 novel The Godfather and Francis Ford Coppola's films The Godfather and The Godfather Part II. In The Godfather Part III, set in 1979–1980, he is said to have died some years before in an unspecified manner.