What is a second world country?

The 2nd world includes countries that were once controlled by the Soviet Union. 2nd world countries were centrally planned economies and 1 party states. Notably, the use of the term 2nd world to refer to Soviet countries largely fell out of use in the early 1990s, shortly after the end of Cold War.