What was magellan's root called?

Magellan's expedition was called the Circumnavigation of the Globe. His intent was to sail from Spain, west around South America to The Spice Islands ,now called Indonesia. Then return by continuing west around Africa back to Spain, thus the expedition completely circled the globe.