What is a piano tuned to?

The piano's A4 key is often tuned to the frequency of 440 hertz. The octave intervals are then doubled and halfed to span the rest of the keyboard. The rest of the notes are divided among the octaves in varying ways depending upon what the music calls for, often split 12 times.