Do elephants ever forget?

Elephants have good memories for other elephants and people. They even remember them over decades. However, the idea that an elephant never forgets is a generalization.

---

Elephants have very long memories. They can forget, of course, but it takes a very, very long time. So don't be mean to an elephant.