What do gypsy moths eat?

According to the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, the preferred food of gypsy moth caterpillars is white oak. However, they will also attack most other deciduous trees, such as maple and birch. Even evergreens may be attacked if preferred hosts are unavailable. The adult moths do not feed.