How to disfigure fingerprints?

The ways criminals alter their fingerprints ranges from the low tech – rubbing the skin, burning fingertips on a stove, dousing fingers in acid, and self-mutilation using razors – to high tech surgery, which could well involve dermal lasers commonly used for plastic surgery.