How long do you have to go to school to be a zookeeper?

Although an associate degree may be adequate, employers usually require a bachelor's degree in animal science, zoology, or any life science. Prior job experience may take the place of education, but positions at higher levels often require 1 to 5 years of job experience and a degree.