Why do they call it cornhole?

It's most likely that the name is supposed to be self-explanatory with “corn” denoting how you use bags of corn, and “hole” denoting the target hole in the board. When you manage to get your bag in the hole, it's also called a “cornhole,” denoting that the “corn” is in the “hole.”