How are baby turkeys born?

Hens lay one egg a day until 10 to 12 eggs have been laid. The average incubation time is 28 days, and in late May or early June the eggs will hatch over a 24 to 36 hour period. During the first 4 weeks of life, baby turkeys, called poults, are unable to fly and rely on their mother for protection.