What's a mitzi?

Originally a nickname for girls named Maria in German-speaking populations, Mitzi became a given name in its own right, even outside of Germany. Several early-20th-century American actresses chose it as part of their stage name, for example, Mitzi Green and Mitzi Gaynor, increasing its popularity.