What's the difference between macaron and macaroon?

A macaron is a French cookie that’s made of finely ground blanched (peeled) almonds suspended in a meringue. A macaroon is a cookie that’s typically made of shredded coconut stirred into whipped egg whites and sugar. Macaroons are larger, denser and chewier that macarons.