Why does sweat smell?

Sweat, itself, does not smell much. However, bacteria on your skin are able to feed upon the sweat and, when they do, they produce the smells we associate with body odor.

---

Fresh sweat does not smell bad. It gets that way after being acted upon by bacteria.