What's the purpose of lape year?

Leap years are a way to catch up with our accounting of years. The true length of a year on Earth is 365 and a quarter days. We keep our calendar in sync with the seasons by having most years be 365 days long. We make it up by making every fourth year just one day longer, or 366 days or leap years.