What's the trilby hat?

The trilby is a hat first popularized by a hat worn in a certain stage adaptation of George du Maurier's novel Trilby, and the name stuck. It was not immediately popularized, but rather was worn as a “rich man's” hat in the early part of the twentieth century, and then mostly only in Britain.