What is world war one?

World War One (the First World War, Great War or War to End All Wars) was fought from 1914-18 between the Central Powers (Germany, Austria-Hungary & Turkey) vs the Allies (France, Great Britain, Russia, Italy, Japan & the United States (the US joined in 1917)). The Allies were the victors