How many suicides happen in a year?

According to WHO, approximately one million people commit suicide each year worldwide, that is about one death every 40 seconds or 3,000 per day. For each individual who takes his or her own life, at least 20 attempt to do so. Suicide has a global mortality rate of 16 per 100,000 people.