What are the properties of vibranium?

In the Marvel Comics, vibranium is metallic substance of extraterrestrial origin. It is one third the weight of steel. Varieties are Wakandan, Antarctic, Artificial, and Living. It is used in shields and woven into micro mesh. Panther could scale walls, walk on water and smash objects with it.