What is a short hair cat?

The British Shorthair is the pedigreed version of the traditional British domestic cat, with a distinctively stocky body, dense coat, and broad face. It is a cat of mixed ancestry—thus not belonging to any particular recognized cat breed—possessing a coat of short fur.