Where does the ham hock come from?

A hock is the joint in a quadruped's hind leg between the knee and the fetlock, the angle of which points backward. So a ham hock is from that joint in a pig's hind leg.

---

A ham hock or pork knuckle is the joint between the tibia/fibula and the metatarsals of the foot of a pig, where the foot was attached to the hog's leg. It is the portion of the leg that is neither part of the ham proper nor the ankle or foot, but rather the extreme shank end of the leg bone.