Why is the nickel called a nickel?

Nickels are called nickels because they are made from the element nickel

---

The nickel get's its name because of what it's made of. A nickel, in American usage, is a five-cent coin struck by the United States Mint. Composed of 75% copper and 25% nickel, the piece has been issued since 1866.