Who found the first cat?

Archaeological evidence suggests that cats were commonly found in association with human settlements in the Fertile Crescent (Israel and the surrounding countries) by 3700 years ago, and they became an 'official deity' (in the form of the goddess Bastet) in Egypt around 2900 years ago.