What's the percentage of alcohol in wine?

Alcohol by volume, or ABV, is used to measure the alcohol content of beer, wine, distilled spirits, and other alcoholic beverages. Fortified wines typically fall in the 16-24% range, while unfortified wines are normally between 14-16%.