Are fresno chillies hot?

On the Scoville heat scale, the Fresno chili ranges from 2,500 to 10,000 Scoville heat units. That closely mirrors the jalapeño, but it can range closer to a mild serrano pepper in overall heat in its mature red form. Fresno peppers change from green to red as they grow, and increase in hotness.

---

The Fresno Chili Pepper is classified as having medium heat and measured at 2,500–10,000 SHU on the Scoville Scale. This should not be confused with the Fresno Bell Pepper.