Why do sharks eat humans?

In the rare event of unprovoked attack, sharks usually confused humans for prey because of shiny jewelry or metal, splashing around, the smell of blood coming from a wound, or the shape of a surf board similar to that of a seal. Only 4 species out of more than 470 have been involved in such attacks.