Who discovered space?

It seems to have been the ancient Greeks who first became aware that space was big, real big. Ptolemy had a go at computing the size of the Moon and the Earth-Moon distance and got pretty close. He had also concluded that the Sun, the planets and the stars were much further away - millions of miles.