Who discovered space?

It seems to have been the ancient Greeks who first became aware that space was big, real big. Ptolemy had a go at computing the size of the Moon and the Earth-Moon distance and got pretty close. He had also concluded that the Sun, the planets and the stars were much further away - millions of miles.

---

Our place in the universe was discovered through the work of astronomer Edwin Powell Hubble on January 1, 1925. Utilizing the 100 inch telescope at Mount Wilson Observatory, he made highly detailed, long-exposure images of the Andromeda nebula, changing our understanding of the scale of the cosmos.