Can fish get depressed?

Yes, Your Pet Fish Can Get Depressed. You can tell if your fish sad by how long they hang at the bottom of a new tank. If the fish swims up top and explores its new environment, then it's happy. Keep your tank clean and properly pH balanced, make sure there's plenty of room and things to explore.