What is cork made out of?

Cork is the inner layer of bark on a type of oak tree, commonly known as the cork oak, which grows in southwestern Europe and northwestern Africa. The bark can be harvested from a mature cork oak tree every 9 years, after which the bark grows back. The trees can live for 300 years.