How long does it take to activate yeast?

To activate yeast mix together lukewarm water, sugar and yeast, stirring vigorously to ensure the yeast is fully dissolved. Cover, and set aside in a warm place for 5 to 10 minutes. Once froth forms on top, your yeast is activated and ready to use.