What's on the diamond?

Diamonds graded by the G.I.A. have serial numbers to prove their authenticity. The serial number on the diamond matches the number on the G.I.A certificate. The number is engraved on the girdle of the diamond, which is the area of the stone that separates the top from the bottom.