What was the biggest tornado in the united states?

The El Reno tornado that swept through Oklahoma in 2013 on Friday was the widest tornado in American history, the National Weather Service. It scraped out a damage path up to 2.6 miles wide and 16.2 miles long, a swath at points wider and longer than Manhattan.