What is a metal carbonate?

Carbonate is a polyatomic anion with a chemical formula CO₃²⁻. This means that a metal carbonate is a compound that contains both the metal and the carbonate anion. Some examples of metal carbonates are CaCO₃ or calcium carbonate and Na₂CO₃ or sodium carbonate.