When was the first black rocket?

Jennifer Jones was hired as the first Black Rockette, to dance in the halftime show of the Super Bowl XXII in San Diego in 1988. She joined the famous kickline on a fill-in basis in the Christmas Spectacular later that year and left the troupe in 2002.