Why are computers so smart?

What computers can do that make them appear smart is repetition. A powerful computer can count to a billion in seconds. It would likely take you around 40 years to do the same thing. The ability to do repetitive acts, tirelessly, allows computers to try for a right answer, dismiss it and try again.