What's the largest bear in the world?

The polar bear is the biggest bear in the world, although it was a close race with the Kodiak bear; a subspecies of brown bear that makes it's home only in Alaska. The polar bear emerged the victor in the race weighing in at between 900 — 1,500 lbs

---

Kodiak bears are the largest bears in the world. A large male can stand over 10 feet tall when on his hind legs, and 5 feet when on all four legs. They weigh up to 1,500 pounds.