What is a scatter thunderstorm?

What is a scatter thunderstorm? Scattered thunderstorms are more numerous in nature and cover a larger area. Scattered thunderstorms have multicell thunderstorm classification, while Isolated thunderstorms have a supercell thunderstorm classification.

---

If the weather forecast is for Scattered Thunderstorms, then expect intermittent raining, spread out over a couple of hours. These systems are made up of multiple storms, so rain tends to stop and start a lot.