What is an energy jewel?

Joule (pronounced like "jewel"), is a measurement unit for energy, much like a BTU, or a kilowatt-hour. A Joule is technically defined as the energy expended when 1 Ampere of electrical current passes through 1 Ohm of resistance for 1 second.