Why was john lennon assassinated?

Mark David Chapman was a lifelong fan of Lennon's band the Beatles, Chapman turned against Lennon following a religious conversion, as such he then objected to Lennon's highly publicised 1966 comment that the Beatles were "more popular than God".

---

Mark David Chapman assassinated John Lennon on December 8th, 1980 in New York City. Chapman was upset with the singer's religious views.