What's the name of the headless horseman?

The Headless Horseman in Washington Irving's short story "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow" is implied to be Brom Van Brunt, also known as Brom Bones, a local man competing against Ichabod Crane for the affections of Katrina Van Tassel.