What's a bond cyclone?

A bomb cyclone is a type of storm that typically develops in the wintertime, over the ocean or off a coast. It begins in the temperate latitudes and strengthens quickly, with the atmospheric pressure at its center dropping swiftly, a process now called “bombogenesis.”