Who invented the smoothie?

Steve Poplawski is credited with creating the modern smoothie when he invented the blender in the 1930s but Steve Kuhnau is credited with popularizing the drink when he founded the first Smoothie King in 1973, and the actual term smoothie was being used in recipes and trademarks by the mid-1980s.