Did dogs evolve from wolves?

Our furry friends likely evolved from a population of wolves domesticated sometime between 20,000 and 40,000 years ago. Docile wolves may have been slipped extra food scraps, the theory goes, so they survived better, and passed on their genes. Eventually, these friendly wolves evolved into dogs.