Where are chickpeas grown?

About 80-90% of chickpeas are cultivated in India. In the United States, California ranks number one in production but some areas of Washington, Idaho and Montana are also now growing the legume.

---

Chickpeas are grown in the Indian subcontinent, the Mediterranean, Australia, the Great Plains region in the Americas, and western Asia. India leads the countries of the world in chickpea production, producing 8,832,500 metric tons of chickpea in 2013.