How deep is elephant butte?

Elephant Butte Lake has an average water depth of 20 feet in the shallower upper basin and 80 feet in the deeper lower basin. The reservoir lake was formed by damming the Rio Grande river and got its name by an island shaped like an elephant within the lake, formed by an ancient volcanos core