What is a lingus?

The word lingus is from the Gaelic language and means fleet. For example, in crossword puzzles, this is a common clue. Typically, the crossword puzzle shows a blank line followed by the word Lingus. This is a reference to the air fleet named Aer Lingus, which is the national air carrier of Ireland.