When were calzones invented?

Like their Italian cousin pizza, calzoni (plural of calzone) originated in Naples, Italy during the 18th century. Translated to "pant leg" or "trouser," the calzone's original purpose was to serve as a "walk around pizza." This Italian style turnover is created by folding a full size pizza in half.