Is lightning hotter than the sun?

Yes. A bolt of lightning can reach temperatures of roughly 53,540 degrees Fahrenheit. The surface temperature of the sun is just 10,340 degrees.

---

Lightning can heat the air it passes through to 50,000 degrees Fahrenheit, which is 5 times hotter than the surface of the sun. When lightning strikes a tree, the heat vaporizes any water in its path sometimes causing the tree to explode or a strip of bark to be blown off.

---

Yes, lightening is approximately 54,000 degrees fahrenheit whereas the surface tempurature of the sun is around 10,000 degrees fahrenheit.