Is lightning hotter than the sun?

Lightning can heat the air it passes through to 50,000 degrees Fahrenheit, which is 5 times hotter than the surface of the sun. When lightning strikes a tree, the heat vaporizes any water in its path sometimes causing the tree to explode or a strip of bark to be blown off.

---

Yes, lightening is approximately 54,000 degrees fahrenheit whereas the surface tempurature of the sun is around 10,000 degrees fahrenheit.