How long do you steep black tea?

It's really a matter of personal preference. Whole leaf teas take a notably longer time to reach their optimum flavor. The general rule of thumb is 4 to 5+ minutes for herbal tea and black tea and 3 to 4 minutes for white tea and green tea, which can become bitter if over-steeped.

---

You should allow black tea to steep for 2 to 3 minutes before drinking.