What is an m. stand for in texas a. and m.?

“Agricultural and Mechanical, originally, but today the letters no longer explicitly stand for anything. When Texas A&M was opened on Oct. 4, 1876, as the state's first public institution of higher education, it was called the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas, or "A&M" for short.