What is sundowners in dogs?

Sundowners Syndrome happens to people with dementia and exhibits as agitation, restlessness, confusion, sadness, and may even go as far as delusions and hallucinations in the evening hours. In dogs it may involve behaviors like pacing, barking, agitation, confusion, or needing to be close to you.

---

In dogs with canine cognitive dysfunction, Sundowner Syndrome can lead to confusion, restlessness, agitation, repetitive pacing, barking for no apparent reason, irritability, or neediness (causing otherwise independent dogs to become “velcro dogs” as night approaches).